Recipes – OMG! Yummy http://omgyummy.com Recipes, Stories, Inspiration for the Home Cook Sat, 29 Apr 2017 14:11:06 +0000 en-US hourly 1 https://wordpress.org/?v=4.7.5 36595977 Mini Irish Soda Biscuits with Currants, Caraway, and Thyme http://omgyummy.com/2017/02/28/mini-irish-soda-biscuits-st-patricks-day/ http://omgyummy.com/2017/02/28/mini-irish-soda-biscuits-st-patricks-day/#comments Tue, 28 Feb 2017 15:02:49 +0000 http://omgyummy.com/?p=9735

Try these Irish Soda Biscuits as a mini alternative to a loaf of bread and a perfect pairing for your St. Patrick’s Day Irish Stew]]>
http://omgyummy.com/2017/02/28/mini-irish-soda-biscuits-st-patricks-day/feed/ 16 9735
Orange and Anise Scented No-Rise Challah Bread http://omgyummy.com/2017/01/31/orange-anise-scented-challah-bread/ http://omgyummy.com/2017/01/31/orange-anise-scented-challah-bread/#comments Tue, 31 Jan 2017 11:00:37 +0000 http://omgyummy.com/?p=9660

Orange & Anise Scented No-Rise Challah Bread makes homemade bread a reality even for really busy households. And the leftovers make the best french toast!]]>
http://omgyummy.com/2017/01/31/orange-anise-scented-challah-bread/feed/ 37 9660
October Unprocessed 2016: Roasted Tomato Sauce http://omgyummy.com/2016/10/24/october-unprocessed-2016-roasted-tomato-sauce/ http://omgyummy.com/2016/10/24/october-unprocessed-2016-roasted-tomato-sauce/#comments Mon, 24 Oct 2016 09:00:14 +0000 http://omgyummy.com/?p=9498

For the seventh year in a row, I am proud to be a guest blogger for Eating Rules October Unprocessed 2016 Food Challenge. Over 4000 people have taken the pledge so far! This year I’m sharing my lick-the-bottom-of-the-bowl roasted tomato sauce. Yes, I know it’s not tomato season any more, but this method of roasting will turn even winter tomatoes […]]]>
http://omgyummy.com/2016/10/24/october-unprocessed-2016-roasted-tomato-sauce/feed/ 6 9498
Lemony Flank Steak with Pomegranate Molasses http://omgyummy.com/2016/10/17/lemony-flank-steak-pomegranate-molasses/ http://omgyummy.com/2016/10/17/lemony-flank-steak-pomegranate-molasses/#comments Tue, 18 Oct 2016 03:14:48 +0000 http://omgyummy.com/?p=9413

This lemony flank steak glazed with pomegranate molasses wows your taste buds with its tangy flavor but goes from pan to table in a matter of minutes.]]>
http://omgyummy.com/2016/10/17/lemony-flank-steak-pomegranate-molasses/feed/ 7 9413
Minty Pomegranate Mule Cocktail – A Refreshing Twist on a Classic http://omgyummy.com/2016/10/17/minty-pomegranate-mule-cocktail/ http://omgyummy.com/2016/10/17/minty-pomegranate-mule-cocktail/#comments Tue, 18 Oct 2016 03:12:52 +0000 http://omgyummy.com/?p=9427

While I love the classic lime, ginger beer, vodka Moscow Mule, this twist, a minty pomegranate mule cocktail, is bright and refreshing alternative.]]>
http://omgyummy.com/2016/10/17/minty-pomegranate-mule-cocktail/feed/ 4 9427
Apricot Apple Matzo Farfel Kugel for Passover http://omgyummy.com/2016/04/19/apricot-apple-matzo-farfel-kugel-passover/ http://omgyummy.com/2016/04/19/apricot-apple-matzo-farfel-kugel-passover/#comments Tue, 19 Apr 2016 18:06:09 +0000 http://omgyummy.com/?p=9178

Inexplicably, the most popular post on my food blog is an apple matzo farfel kugel recipe from 2013. I like to think it’s popular because of its in-depth analysis of what works and doesn’t work in a kugel recipe and of course, the recipe itself. But to be honest, it’s probably because of a dearth of good, moist, […]]]>
http://omgyummy.com/2016/04/19/apricot-apple-matzo-farfel-kugel-passover/feed/ 10 9178
Orange Olive Oil Hamantaschen for Purim http://omgyummy.com/2016/03/21/orange-olive-oil-hamantaschen-purim/ http://omgyummy.com/2016/03/21/orange-olive-oil-hamantaschen-purim/#comments Mon, 21 Mar 2016 21:08:21 +0000 http://omgyummy.com/?p=9135

No matter what filling you prefer for this traditional 3-sided hamantaschen cookie, this orange-scented olive oil dough will be the perfect wrapper.]]>
http://omgyummy.com/2016/03/21/orange-olive-oil-hamantaschen-purim/feed/ 8 9135
Chocolate Babka: Tasting Jerusalem February 2016 http://omgyummy.com/2016/03/04/chocolate-babka/ http://omgyummy.com/2016/03/04/chocolate-babka/#comments Fri, 04 Mar 2016 22:13:45 +0000 http://omgyummy.com/?p=9099

Chocolate babka or krantz cake, is a brioche-like chocolate-studded bread that is making a mainstream comeback – in kitchens and bakeries everywhere!]]>
http://omgyummy.com/2016/03/04/chocolate-babka/feed/ 13 9099
Let Us Eat Cake: Chocolate Bundt Cake with Cream Cheese Frosting http://omgyummy.com/2016/02/10/chocolate-bundt-cake/ http://omgyummy.com/2016/02/10/chocolate-bundt-cake/#comments Wed, 10 Feb 2016 14:00:19 +0000 http://omgyummy.com/?p=9006

Let’s celebrate Valentine’s Day, my blog’s 6th anniversary, and my daughter’s 18th birthday with a chocolate bundt cake with cream cheese frosting. Milestones call for cake and this recipe, inspired by a lovely layer cake from the Merry Gourmet, is my idea of a perfect moist, decadent but not dense chocolate cake.]]>
http://omgyummy.com/2016/02/10/chocolate-bundt-cake/feed/ 12 9006
Spicy Korean Meatballs with a Gochujang Glaze http://omgyummy.com/2016/02/05/spicy-korean-meatballs/ http://omgyummy.com/2016/02/05/spicy-korean-meatballs/#comments Fri, 05 Feb 2016 15:11:30 +0000 http://omgyummy.com/?p=9035

These Spicy Korean Meatballs are ideal as a simple midweek meal or a crowd-pleasing Super Bowl snack. They are hearty, spicy, sweet, and tangy. If you haven’t already tried the Korean spice paste, gochujang, this is a great introduction to it and you’ll be happy to have it in your pantry.]]>
http://omgyummy.com/2016/02/05/spicy-korean-meatballs/feed/ 26 9035